Do you want to become a real estate agent and get a Colorado Real Estate License? This is your sign to DO IT! The requirements to become an agent in Colorado are clear. Pass a background check, complete 168 hours of Colorado real estate license education, and pass the Colorado real estate license exam. Oh, and you need to be at least 18 years old!
Step 1: Meet the educational real estate license requirements in Colorado
Option 1: Complete the 168 hours of license education. The 168 hours of Colorado Real Estate Broker Qualifying Education are comprised of mandatory courses required by the Colorado Division of Real Estate. The mandatory courses will prepare you to pass both the state and national portions of the Colorado real estate broker examination. The six courses are:
- 48 hours, Real Estate Law & Practice
- 48 hours, Colorado Contracts & Regulations
- 8 hours, Trust Accounts & Recordkeeping
- 8 hours, Current Legal Issues
- 24 hours, Real Estate Closings
- 32 hours, Practical Applications
Step 2: Pass the Exams
When you have completed each of the 6 courses, you must pass a course final exam that will prepare you to pass the licensing exam. After that, you will take and pass both the national and state portions of the Colorado Broker Exam at a PSI test center.
Step 3: Complete the license application
To do so, you must have a current E&O insurance policy in place before obtaining an active license. Once you do, you can apply for your license online.